Grand Canyon Marshmallows

Happy New Year to y’all!  I’m still bloated and buzzing from all of the sugar cookies and sugar cream cake and pulled pork sandwiches and buffalo chicken dip and ahh, delicious food!  I think I’ve literally gained 9 pounds, 3 in my face.  But so worth it.  I guess holiday food is why classes at the gym are overflowing in January.  Gotta lose the weight and start new habits.

And January is the time to start new habits because it’s the beginning of the new year.  I’ve heard some crazy New Year’s resolutions

  • I will completely give up chocolate.  (umm…why?)
  • Start washing my hands after I go to the bathroom.  (every time?)
  • Stop drinking orange juice after I brush my teeth.
  • Spend less than $1825 at Starbucks this year.  (mmm, white hot chocolate)
  • Gain enough weight to be on the biggest loser.  (sounds like a real tough sacrifice)

I may as well jump on board and resolve to make a change in 2014.  Only, I refuse to give up chocolate or balloon myself to 600 lbs just to meet Jillian Michaels.  My resolve is about worry.  Have you heard people say,

My New Year’s resolution is to stop worrying.

To me that’s like saying I resolve to stop Niagara from falling.  Or I’ve decided to build the Great Wall of China in my backyard.  Or I plan to fill the Grand Canyon with marshmallows.  All to me a bit unrealistic. Never gonna happen.  As much as I’d like to stop worrying, I think it’s impossible this side of heaven.

I can’t force myself to stop; it actually makes it worse.  I can’t ignore it, because it always circles around in my mind and comes out with a stronger bite.  Feeling ashamed about worry doesn’t help…and pretending it’s not a big deal is unbiblical.  Maybe a better resolution is

I resolve to have a solid strategy to battle worry.

A realistic strategy that doesn’t involve shame, denial, or white knuckling it.  Rather a plan that takes into account some simple warrior tactics.  I don’t pretend to be a soldier, even at Halloween.  But I have picked up some pointers from Independence Day, the story of David and Goliath and Joshua leading the Israelites into the Promised land, and samurai warriors.  My strategy  has 3 tactics

  1. Know your enemy.
  2. Know your weapons.
  3. Know The Man.

These 3 tactics working together comprise a solid strategy.  Over the next couple of posts we’ll explore each tactic – what they mean and how they can be helpful to anyone who worries.

Want to join me in the battle?

What’s your new year’s resolution?

Linked up to
Cornerstone Confessions

6 thoughts on “Grand Canyon Marshmallows

  1. Thank you for a very good post. I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions because after I while I just forget about them. But I did choose a word for this year. My word is joyful. Hopefully your year is joyful also!

  2. Pingback: Know Your Enemy | Cast Your Worries

  3. Pingback: Know Your Weapons | Cast Your Worries

  4. Pingback: Know Him | Cast Your Worries

Leave a Reply

