What No Mother Can Do

It’s the week after Mother’s Day and I’m still riding the waves of chocolates and the promise of a new-athletic-wear-shopping trip. I’m still exercising in my old college t-shirts. It’s about time for some new gear!

Our local Christian station is also coming off a Mother’s Day high. I feel like I’ve heard the Plumb song “In My Arms” enough to perform it for Plumb…in other words, a lot! If you haven’t heard it, give it a listen when you get a free moment.

As I listened to the song for the 8th time in 2 days I realized Plumb and I could be besties. The song is a melancholy lullaby inspired by her son Solomon. She describes his baby beauty, his growth, and that someday

clouds will rage and storms will race in but you will be safe in my arms.

rains will pour down, waves will crash all around but you will be safe in my arms.

Plumb knows that her sweet baby will someday face the gales of life. But she sings that he will be safe in her arms.

I want the same thing Plumb wants.

I want what every parent wants.

I want my babies to be safe in my arms.

 I’ve tried my hardest to keep them safe from the moment they were conceived.  (Which I guess the song would then go “Safe in my uterus”…not quite as catchy…) And since they’ve popped out, I’ve lived my life so they would be safe in my arms.

Babies R Us was sure to let me know about every single way I could keep my baby safe in my arms:

  • Top baby car seats
  • The safest baby swing
  • A sling that holds the baby safely while allowing for hands-free movement, but not restricting the baby’s growth (whew)
  • Drawer locks
  • Window locks
  • Cabinet locks
  • Baby gates
  • Wipe warmer (because no baby is safe with a cold wipe)
  • Window shades (must keep baby’s eyes safe)
  • Wooden toys or organic cotton toys
  • Cloth diapers
  • Non toxic baby shampoo
the-peekaru-2-624x453

Maybe you can still keep them in your uterus…

 

And you can find the rest of the list at babiesrus.com. As my babies continue to grow, I continue to try to keep them safe.

In My Arms is my theme song.

It’s the way I try to live my life as a mama.

But it’s absolutely, 100% impossible to keep your child safe in your arms.  

It’s the thing every mother (and parent) wants to do, but cannot.

It’s a noble promise and we make every effort to do so, but we’re quickly disappointed when we realize we can’t prevent a scraped knee, a bullied heart, a painful break-up, or an unexpected car accident. My children will not always be safe in my arms, whether they’re 2 months, 2 years, or 22 years.

But they are safe in their Savior’s arms.

What does it mean they are safe in God’s arms?

  • It means that He sustains and supports them in their daily trials.
  • He offers wisdom in His Word for a useful life
  • He forgives them for the storms they create…from yelling at their brother to someday yelling at their spouse
  • He designed their bodies to heal physically.
  • And when they’re bodies are broken and don’t heal, He gives wisdom to doctors and scientists to distribute and create medicines and treatments.
  • And when treatments don’t work, He reminds us of the ultimate healing of their bodies and souls won by Jesus.

As much as it humbles me to admit it, God is a better parent than I am. 

I believe my main job as a mom is not to let them know how much I love them…
but to let them know how much God loves them.

He holds my 4 little ones in His arms everyday. And thank God, because I will fail them as a protector. But He will not.

Check out some words of comfort and presence from our Father.

Insert your child’s name when appropriate…and remember that these big words of comfort are not just of us as parents. They’re also for our children! Maybe even try to learn one with your child this week.

Psalm 18:2
The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Psalm 46:1
God is our refuge and strength.  A very present help in trouble.

Isaiah 41:10
Fear not for I am with you; be not dismayed for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Matthew 11:28
Come to me (Jesus), all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

2 Corinthians 1:3, 4
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles…

Matthew 28:20
I (Jesus) am with you always til the very end of the age.

1 John 1:9
If we confess our sins, God who is faithful and just will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Ephesians 3:17, 18
And you being rooted and established in love may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.

Happily linked with:
The Time Warp Wife
Raising Homemakers
A Wise Woman Builds Her Home

One thought on “What No Mother Can Do

Leave a Reply

