How to find God in the Bible

Many times when I’m worrying, I hear

Read your bible.

I just heard it the other day from my mother-in-law, a woman who cries when she thinks about Jesus giving up His life for us. This lady has a soft heart of faith. She shared that when she doesn’t know what to do about a situation, she reads the Bible before she goes to bed and when she wakes up. Through prayer and in time, she comes to an understanding of how to handle the issue.

I believe her because

God’s Word is living and active, sharper than any two-edge sword.
Hebrews 4:12

I believe the best place to find God is in His Word. But when we go to read, it’s important to think about what question we’re asking as we read. Too often I have asked,

Who am I in this story? 

Or, in other words…

  • Would I do what he did?
  • Have I ever done something like King David?
  • Could I be strong like Job?
  • Which son am I more like in the story of the Prodigal Son?

18prodigalson

These are all questions I’ve considered as I’ve read the Bible. The funny thing is that when I ask these questions, I’m completely focused on me.

When I’m focused on me, I miss seeing God.

I don’t think it’s a bad thing to see ourselves in the Bible. We should because our life is anchored to the story. It’s also helpful to be reminded of our mistakes and failures. It’s only in seeing ourselves as sinners that we see our need for a Savior.

However all too frequently I read the Bible with only me in mind. So recently I’ve given myself a new question to answer each time I read Scripture.

What can I learn about God from this passage?

Let me tell you folks, this question has rocked. my. world. You know what happened?

I found God in His Word.

I stopped trying to shoehorn myself into King David’s scenarios (like when he’s being hotly pursued by men wanting to kill him…haven’t experienced that one!) and instead asked who is the God King David is crying out to?

I can marvel at the love of our Father, instead of spending all of my devotional time wrestling over which brother I’m like in the prodigal son.

I can experience God’s restoration instead of figuring out if I’m more like Peter or John.

I know I’m a sinner in need. And God’s active word still convicts me of this. But I don’t stay there anymore.

I’m beginning to see God.

All it took was one simple question: What can I learn about God?

keeping-your-eyes-on-christ

As we battle worry, I believe trusting God is the greatest weapon we wield. We must continue to know our God to develop trust in God. It doesn’t just happen. One of the easiest ways to learn about God is to ask a simple question.

Try it out on the passage below.

  • Read it.
  • Ask the question: What can I learn about God?
  • Leave your answers in the comments below.

Psalm 23

A psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,[a]
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

Happily linked with:
Raising Homemakers
A Wise Woman Builds Her Home
Arabah Joy
Simple Moments Stick
A Little R & R
Messy Marriage

9 thoughts on “How to find God in the Bible

  1. It tells me that God pours out peace and sustains us in every situation and that no matter what happens he is there. As a chronic worrier it is a reminder that I need not to trust God instead of imagining worst case scenarios. Easier said than done, but it’s an area where I see that I fall short.

    I will start to apply this question to my devotions, though I’m reading Job at the moment, so it’s hard to see God in the midst of all the angst.

    • Yes good insights! I too struggle with the worst case scenario game. It would be awesome if we could simply trust God instead of going down the doomsday path. However I’ve decided to dance a little with worst case scenarios…instead of simply playing them out, I ask myself where God would be in those worst case scenarios. Would He still be present? Forgiving? Offering peace and consistency? So far the answer has been yes.

      And talk about worst case scenarios – JOB! But as you read, I pray you see God in the story. He’s there, though it may not seem like it! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Wow, what a great post! I myself have often wondered and embarrassingly never thought about looking for what I can learn about God in what I read. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this. To me it was a real eye opener!

  3. You make such an important point here! God’s Word is where He reveals Himself to us, and if we’re not looking for Him there, we’re missing out. Thank you for linking up with us at Grace & Truth!

Leave a Reply

