This is Why I’m Possible

I’ve seen this phrase floating around the web these last couple of weeks, especially on pinterest:

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says, ‘I’m possible’!”

I imagine this quote from Aubrey Hepburn isn’t wildly popular because of cool graphics. It’s catching steam because it taps into our desire to pull ourselves up by our bootstraps and be who we want to be. It prompts us to believe we are the variable in our lives that make the difference.

It’s funny how seemingly inspiring quotes can sink into our mentality, yet be contrary to Scripture.

If I’ve learned anything in my struggle with worry, it’s that it is impossible for me to figure it out all by myself.

I cannot will myself to stop worrying. I haven’t discovered how to force myself to not lose my patience. I am unable with my own strength to stop my mind from racing around thoughts of death. I still have anxiety when Jim takes all of the kids to the park.

I can’t do this life on my own. 

I need strength, help, courage, love, and support from Someone outside of me. 

I’m possible, but only with the One who makes me possible.

 i'm possible

Throughout the Bible, we see a God who repeatedly has made us possible. He defeated the Egyptians at the Red Sea while the Israelites just stood there. He overthrew Goliath using a meek shepherd boy. He challenged empires through his prophets.

And He delivered Himself to His world to be with us. When the angel of the LORD tells Mary her aged cousin Elizabeth is pregnant, he reminds her that

…Nothing will be impossible with God.

Jesus echoes our need for God when he talks to His disciples about who will be saved in Matthew 19:26. They were exasperated as to how difficult it is for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God. But He encourages them that

With people this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.

Jesus also promises the disciples (and us!) to send His helper, the Holy Spirit. Again, God is with us! Paul continues to share this reality in Acts 17:27

For in Him (God) we live and move and have our being.

We are not singular creatures on this earth fighting for a way to make ourselves possible. God has done that and continues to make us possible. Without His presence, even for a second, the world would stop turning…the seasons would cease…our lives would end.

My mom’s favorite bible verse is Philippians 4:13. It has been her battle cry in any challenge she has faced.

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

All things. Like battling worry and finding patience and conquering death and overcoming fear. These things only happen through the strength of God.

My wise husband pastor has described a mature Christian as one who sees their daily need for God.

We never outgrow Him. That’s what Jesus means when He says to have faith like a child. He wants us to rely on Him completely, forever, and not on ourselves.

I think Audrey Hepburn had it backwards. Her quote is a nice puffer upper, but at the end of the day, I fail and I need my Jesus!

GOD+

How has God been your strength this week?

Happily linked with:
Grace and Truth
A Little R & R
Messy Marriages
3-D Lessons for Life
Woman to Woman Ministries
Mom’s Morning Coffee

6 thoughts on “This is Why I’m Possible

  1. Love this, Brandy! Especially your truth that we cannot “will” ourselves to stop worrying, etc. Truly, we cannot just summon up the fruit of the Spirit…that’s why it’s called the fruit of the SPIRIT and not the fruit of us! But: in Christ, we can do what we can’t! Blessings on your day.

  2. This is so beautifully & wisely written. I agree with you that sometimes the quotes that are so inspiring, can be misleading. You brought everything into a godly perspective. I love that! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

