Do Your Worries Stem From Insecurity?

I woke up the other night and I couldn’t breathe. My chest was tight, my heart was thumping, and my mind was in shock. It felt like a panic attack.

All because of a dream.

I’ve had bad dreams before, about death and other awful things, but this was by far the worst. I dreamed that Jim had an affair, had no desire to reconcile, and actually thought very poorly of me. It was a nightmare.

My dear husband has never given me any reason to have this dream. He is faithful, committed, and one of the greatest blessings in my life.

When I finally woke from this hellish dream, he was there to hold me, calm my sobs and process the happenings of this facade.

At 4 a.m. I realized that I still have a couple of insecurities lodged in my heart. Again, not because of Jim’s actions; it stems from my own self-doubt.

Am I loved?

Am I accepted?

Am I intelligent?

I’ve spent the last week considering afresh these insecurities and the lies that hide behind them. The dream was horrific, but served to uncover deception.

Similarly, worry can be daydream nightmares.

How are insecurities and dreams connected-

And if we bravely lean into our worries, we may find lies and insecurities lurking.

The challenge is to expose the untruths or insecurities and replace them with truth.

Truth of who we are and our ultimate value and purpose is found in God.

  • We are chosen and loved by God even when we feel unworthy and unlovable. 
  • We can endure the greatest circumstances in our weakness because He is our rock and refuge.
  • God is present with us through His word and through His people even when we feel lonely.
  • We can forgive ourselves and let go of guilt because Jesus has paid it all and gifts us everyday with forgiveness. 

Not only do we need to replace lies with truth, but we must keep telling ourselves the truth!

It’s another lie to believe we can replace lies with truth immediately. It’s a lifelong process that ends in the grave.

It would be nice to snap our fingers and have a new umbrella of truth. But it takes time, effort, and the working of the Holy Spirit.

Thanks be to God His truth is accessible and forgiveness overflows every time I repent of lies and insecurity.

What insecurities hide within your worries?
What truths do you need to tell yourself?

Happily linked with:
Raising Homemakers
A Wise Woman Builds Her Home
Grace and Truth
A Little R & R
Messy Marriages
3-D Lessons for Life
Woman to Woman Ministries
Mom’s Morning Coffee

 

 

Leave a Reply

