Afraid to be a Real Man

I’m excited to share with you a guest post from blogger Andrew Beck. Andrew blogs at b4Him.com, a site meant to encourage, challenge, and inspire you on your walk with Christ. He is married to Gina, and they have two daughters Lia and Ariana. In the last 5 years, he and his family have immersed themselves in church and the Bible and seen their lives transformed.

null (1)Today he shares how daily choices are opportunities to define ourselves…and even when we make the wrong choice, we have a God who chose to be a real man for us and offer us forgiveness and eternity! 

Afraid to be a Real Man
Andrew Beck

Now I am sure you are wondering what I mean “afraid to be a real man”.  I am talking about being a man who under all circumstances will follow Jesus. He doesn’t succumb to the pressure of this world to tone it down when around certain people or in certain situations.

This doesn’t mean you go around quoting scripture to people all the time, but your actions need to show it. We cannot have different actions based on the people we are with; this isn’t how we are called to live.

When I let this fear have control, it just makes my life miserable. I listen to the lies that I do enough and am good enough, so I don’t need to worry about always showing my faith.

WRONG

It has nothing to do with how good I am, it’s all about how GREAT HE is. This is what needs to be focused on. Listening to all the noise out there is a distraction from who we need to be listening to, which is God.

Sometimes it actually feels like having two lives, and when they come in contact with one another there is chaos. I become numb or paralyzed because I am constantly debating on how I should act in different situations. Too often I don’t go the way God is prompting me, and I end up just feeling miserable about it. I don’t want to feel this way anymore.

So how am I going to change that?

I am glad that I am part of a men’s group at my church. In this group we are doing the Authentic Manhood study, and in it they give a great description of authentic manhood:

  • Reject passivity
  • Accept responsibility
  • Lead courageously
  • Invest eternally

These four points really help me, because they are exactly how Jesus acted. This truth uplifts me. I know that Jesus did not have an easy time while here on earth; He was constantly mocked and ridiculed, questioned and shamed. Despite all that He never deterred from acknowledging God.

Knowing what it would cost Him (Jesus) in the end wasn’t able to alter how He lived.

In every situation Jesus relied on his Father, and was only concerned about doing his Father’s will. This is where I am trying to get my life to. I want to be focused on the will of God for my life.

John 15:18-19   If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first.  If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.

To read more from Andrew, you can find him at b4Him.com 

Andrew and his beautiful family

Andrew and his beautiful family

Happily linked with:
Raising Homemakers
A Wise Woman Builds Her Home
Grace and Truth
A Little R & R
Messy Marriages
3-D Lessons for Life
Pat and Cindy

 

 

One thought on “Afraid to be a Real Man

Leave a Reply

