Late and Worried…AGAIN!

I woke up the other morning just like almost every other morning of my life – late. I had to be out the door in an hour with all 4 kids, dressed, fed, and ready to go.

After spending way too much time making breakfast, I had about 15 minutes left to shoo the kids around the house into shoes and out the door. After 30 minutes everyone was buckled in the car while I sprinted around the house packing snacks, diapers, water, teething gel, wallet, and trying not to forget my phone.

I wish I could blame my lateness on kids…4 of them…but that just wouldn’t be fair.

I’ve been late since I can remember. I scarfed down breakfast on the way to 5th grade, walked in late to 80% of my high school career, and barely skated into college classes on time.

If I were any Disney character, I'd be this tardy rabbit!

If I were any Disney character, I’d be this tardy rabbit!

And every time I’m late I feel great anxiety. You’d think after a lifetime of tardiness I’d be numb to feeling guilty and worried about being late.

But every time I’m racing down the road, my mind is running just as fast…gotta hurry, make the light, turn quickly, oh man, everyone’s gonna watch me when I walk in, I’m embarrassed to be late AGAIN, people will think I’m not reliable and irresponsible, oh no I’m almost out of gas!, hurry, hurry, hurry!!!

This morning was no different. I was late and worried the entire way. And you know what? I got there late, despite all of my worrying. My mind was worn from the anxious laps I ran while driving. Worrying for 20 minutes did nothing but tangle my stomach and mind in knots.

20151028_105004

Will this be enough gas to get me there?!?

It finally struck me that worrying about being late does not make time stop. It doesn’t change how people think about me. It doesn’t put gas in my tank. It doesn’t change anything.

Now I know this is not profound, but at that moment, it was just the realization I needed.

I’ve determined to a.) Try to be better organized and leave earlier b.) If I happen to ever run late again, not to worry about being late, but strategize how to be timely…and pray for help and self-discipline.  

Honestly, this simple awareness works in more than just the timing of my life.

It applies to ALL worries.

Worrying does absolutely nothing but put our minds and bodies into a tailspin. It doesn’t add anything, take away anything, or change anything.  Jesus knew this was very well. He says in Matthew 6:27

Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

No. Not a single minute.

It’s my challenge to recognize when I’m worrying, from the biggies like, “Will we have enough money to remodel our kitchen”, to the littles like, “Am I gonna be late again?!”

Both are moments of worry and evoke similar feelings. And both need jolts of truth and prayer to remind me to trust in Christ for identity and security.

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Matthew 6:26

 

Happily linked with:
Raising Homemakers
A Wise Woman Builds Her Home
Grace and Truth
A Little R & R
Messy Marriages
3-D Lessons for Life
Pat and Candy

3 thoughts on “Late and Worried…AGAIN!

  1. Gah – so much I could relate to, Brandy!! Thanks for sharing this at Coffee & Conversation last week – we’ll be featuring it at tomorrow’s party!

  2. Pingback: Coffee and Conversation #66 - "Scents"ational ePantry Offer! -

Leave a Reply

